A smart, high-waist OOTD for you

Uncategorized

img_1884

Here is an outfit I recently wore to work, which I photographed because it’s an example of a high waisted outfit on my body.  There’s several aspects to point out on this outfit, and I’m sorry the lighting in the photo is poor.  But essentially, what I have is a sleeveless dark purple blouse in a light polyester fabric (old, Primark UK); a heavier slightly stretchy viscose/elastane mix pencil skirt in black (CUE, Au); a shiny patent black skinny belt knotted at the front (The Warehouse, NZ); and nude patent stiletto t-bar shoes from Principles (UK).

Reasons why the proportions on this high-waisted outfits works?

The high neckline

I have a sports bra on underneath to minimise the boobs with the high neckline

The relatively close colours of the top and skirt, and the belt mean that the high-waist effect is minimized visually

I got the skirt taken up to a length just on/below the knee which is great on my height and shape

I have lengthened the lower half of the outfit by having heels on, and this stops the long upper body (high neckline) from dominating the look.  If I had flats on I think the proportions would be a bit top-heavy with this look.

img_9750

Leave a Reply

