Grey wrap dress and boots for autumn

Uncategorized

DSC_3080(1)

Having a browse around Glassons the other day, generally looking for trouble (read: to spend money), I stumbled across this grey/blue marl wrap dress with long sleeves.  I haven’t had a wrap dress in years, despite them being touted as the ultimate flatterer of the hourglass figure.  Well, in short, I tried it on and loved it.  It’s a knit material, fits like a dream, flatters and drapes like a dream, has a cute little flippy A-line shape, and is warm enough to layer over a vest and tights (pantyhose) for winter.  I threw on an old burgundy scarf from Primark, but after looking at these pictures, the outfit would lend itself beautifully to a pop of colour like lime green or pink (or any other colours that suit your complexion – except I avoid pairing blue with grey, that’s not my fave personally).

DSC_3079(1)DSC_3067

I am wearing Aristoc tights here, which I swear by.  I don’t bother wearing any other brand of tights if I can help it, I’m a believer in getting good quality hosiery to make your outfit look more put-together overall.  These have enough elastane in to follow the shape of your legs, without becoming loose. Also they have beautiful natural tones that last many washes, and a bit of a shine to them.  They give a little compression and tighten up your hips and tum.  Lastly, you can rip a hole in them and they won’t ladder or fall to pieces for many wears, they’re so durable.  I get mine online from sheerdeelites.co.nz – Debbie the owner is so efficient and responsive to orders.

DSC_3065DSC_3063

Other accessories I’m wearing here include a tasseled shoulder bag from Kmart (didn’t match this look terribly well, a more structured bag would’ve been better), an old black vest under the dress, Céline sunglasses, and an old pair of lace-up boots from Next (UK).  Any black knee high boots would complete this look.

I can see this dress being versatile in that it could be dressed up for work, but also easily dressed down for shopping, coffee with friends, Sunday dinner with family and much more.  One of my style resolutions is to wear more dresses on casual occasions, rather than relying on jeans all the time, and I feel this is one piece that’s going to come out again and again.

Leave a Reply

