Surfy look with Aztec prints and Topshop Africa Moccasin Booties

Casual hourglass, Outfit of the day, Outfits, Reviews

DSC_2812DSC_2820DSC_2822DSC_2829

I’ve been wanting to put together a Western/Native American type of outfit recently, but I wanted it wearable, not too costumey and suitable for autumn/winter style.  So I settled on making it a little bit surfy with warm layers.  This outfit obliterates my waist so to create a more flattering look you may want to find a gilet that gives you more of a waist, or swap the gilet for a parka jacket, cinched in at the waist.  I can see this outfit being the sort of thing I want to pull on when me and husb are heading out on errands or to the beach for a cold day walk, or if you have kids it’s the sort of thing you might put on to take them down the park.

I found these boots a particular challenge to style, despite me loving them, because they don’t do any favours to short chunky calves, cutting you off high on the ankle.  I tried them with black tights and a shortish skirt but felt it made my legs look too dumpy, but I quite liked the look with black jeans.  If you have slimmer calves, or are a bit taller than me you’ll have no issues with styling these.

The boots are extremely comfy, made of real suede leather, and feel very solid in construction.  The Western-style tassels and moccasin detailing are an awesome update for the upcoming season and can be worn throughout the year – in spring/summer, just pair them with lighter weight clothes.

Outfit details

Puffa jacket and scarf – old, from Primark

Burgundy leopard print sweater – old, from The Warehouse

Ripped jeans – jeans from The Warehouse, DIY-torn

Suede moccasin booties – Topshop this season

Cross-body bag – old, The Warehouse

 

 

Leave a Reply

