Styling brogues when you don’t have skinny legs

Casual hourglass, Outfit of the day, Outfits, Reviews, Uncategorized, Wardrobe planning

Brogues. They strike fear into the heart of many a curvy girl. Undeniably mannish in style, they contradict our feminine bodies to the extreme but here lies the draw: they’re hard to style. Every woman likes a decent challenge, a way to prove that despite her manly attire, she can still come off as a beacon of femininity.  Or something like that.

So, in short: challenge accepted, on behalf of all the short, chunky-legged, womanly-shaped women out there who would like to try a brogue or two.  Now as a proviso before I set off, if you are after a brogue this season to update your look, I would (now) completely encourage you.  Before I bought a pair and played around with some outfit looks, I would’ve said avoid completely if you’re an hourglass.  I’ve been pleasantly surprised at how it’s possible to style them fairly easily, and they got the husband seal of approval :p

The brogues to buy would be black patent ones like these from ASOS (as I’m typing this I realise I may be lumping in loafers alongside brogues – sorry about that.  I’m going to change my title to reflect the mix-up and for future reference, apparently brogues have little perforations/holes in, whilst loafers are slip-on and have the tassels.  Trust me to find a pair of shoes with both features – I’ll call them broafers).  Anyway, back to those patent brogues, they should be super shiny and I think they look awesome with a white sole, kinda reflecting the sport-luxe trend gently.  If you can’t get or don’t like shiny black ones, get some cool cut-out metallic ones, these often look a bit girlier too and gold or silver can be treated as a neutral when it comes to pairing with outfits.

I on the other hand thought about getting my ideal pair of black shiny loafers ($189 NZD), but instead had to invest in a couple of other bits and bobs for other posts, so I settled for some tan ones that were cheaper and I fell in love with them a bit.  Anyone else a sucker for a tan shoe?  No?  That will just be me then.  My brogues were from Novo on Queen’s street, Auckland, and I got them reduced for $40 NZD.

Here’s three looks with brogues that I felt reasonably happy to leave the house in; see what you think.

Look number 1: All black, city style with a tailored jacket

DSC_2809

This was probably my favourite look of the three – trust an hourglass to migrate towards the smartest possible option.  Bah, I’m unproving my own theory that ‘hey hourglasses, we can all look awesome without resorting to the smartest possible option’!  Anyway my jacket is from H&M (yonks ago – they usually have some current options year round however), button-down cotton polyester shirt from Primark (old) and the jeans I bought from K-Mart cheaply and added in some knee rips myself – search Pinterest for how to do this if you’re interested.  You’ll see I’m putting together outfits with a lot of pieces already from my wardrobe – it’s partly because I’m not a billionaire buying new clothes all the time (‘we never would’ve guessed’ I hear you cry), but it’s actually a deliberate policy to represent outfits that don’t cost the earth or require constant expenditure – I’m a believer in a good-quality basic wardrobe, that gets updated with key pieces as and when needed (e.g, brogues).  My sunglasses are new from Topshop – the round shape is an easy update this season.

DSC_2807

Look number 2: Laid back Saturday leather jacket and jeans

DSC_2778

This comfy look would be great for any number of daytime events, pottering round the shops, running errands, having a coffee out with your husband.  I kept the white top fitted (it’s a peplum style top from Pagani a year ago) so that my waist wasn’t completely lost in the loose leather jacket.  My jacket is old, from Miss Selfridge and is falling apart now!  But everyone needs both a black and a coloured (p)leather jacket in their wardrobes, they’re so versatile.  My jeans are my good ol’ Primark Lift n Shape.  Oh and my handbag was from The Warehouse, but any tan handbag would work here, to bring out the tan in the shoes.

DSC_2775

Look number 3: Back to school preppy styling with fedora and tights

DSC_2738

I bought this fedora from Topshop very recently, and am in love with it.  I’ve been wanting a floppy-brimmed light brown hat forever, and then found this one which combines a floppy brim with up-to-date fedora detailing.  I paired this hat with an old stretchy dress from Primark – the short length helps keep the brogues from looking too frumpy.  My bag is old, no clue where from but you can get a nice tan bag from anywhere these days.

DSC_2748

DSC_2751

Hope you enjoyed my three brogues outfits, if you’re interested in some super comfy stylish shoes, I can definitely recommend brogues as a worthy update to your hourglass closet.

Leave a Reply

